SCISYS Group Structure and Key Staff

SCISYS GROUP PLC Board Directors

Mike Love - Non-Executive Chairman

Mike was Chief Executive of SCISYS (formerly CODASCISYS) from 1986 (when he led the management buy-in of the business) until 2003, when he became Non-Executive Chairman. He stepped back in as Executive Chairman in late 2007 but from 2012 stepped back out as Non-Executive Chairman. Mike has a PhD in theoretical physics and 30 years’ experience in the software industry. He serves as Non-Executive Chairman at Dillistone Group PLC and is a Director of Redcliffe Precision Limited and of The Nepal Trust. He is a previous member of the AIM Advisory Group of the London Stock Exchange.

David Jones - Deputy Chairman

David joined the Board as a Non-Executive Director in June 2002 and stepped in as an Executive Director in late 2007. He was appointed Chief Operations Officer on 1 January 2010 and then Chief Executive Officer on 1 January 2012. He ceased to be Chief Executive Officer on 1 January 2014 and became Deputy Chairman on 1 January 2014, while remaining as an Executive Director.

Klaus Heidrich - Chief Executive Officer

Klaus studied electrical engineering with a focus on communications engineering at the University of Dortmund and gained a master’s degree in electronics engineering. In 1989 he joined VCS AG (now SCISYS Deutschland GmbH) as a sales engineer. From 1992 he was responsible for marketing and sales of VCS and developed VCS media activities until he briefly left VCS, returning a year later taking responsibility for strategic business development within corporate management. From 2005 to 2011 he was a Director of the Media & Broadcast division. On 1 January 2012 he became an Executive Director and Chief Operations Officer of SCISYS PLC (now "SCISYS Group PLC") and from 1 January 2014 became CEO.

Chris Cheetham - Finance Director

Chris is an engineering graduate of Cambridge University who qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Ernst & Young in 1990 and worked in the Corporate Finance department until 1996. He has extensive experience gained from working as Finance Director and Company Secretary within the software industry for the six years prior to joining SCISYS. He was appointed Finance Director on 1 January 2007.

Steve Brignall - Technical Director

Steve joined the Science Systems group in 1986 as a senior analyst/programmer. He was appointed Technical Director of Science Systems (Industrial) in 1999 and Technical Director of the SCISYS Division in 2004. He was appointed Executive Director on 26 September 2006. Before joining SCISYS, he spent 5 years at Rolls-Royce (Aero) and Westinghouse Systems. He studied mathematics at Manchester University.

Prof. Dr. Klaus-G. Meng - Executive Director

Klaus studied electrical engineering at the University of Bochum and graduated as a PhD in optic communication engineering in 1987. He was appointed a Non-Executive Director of SCISYS PLC (now "SCISYS Group PLC") in January 2009 and was appointed an Executive Director in July 2012, responsible for mergers and acquisitions as well as remaining a Director of SCISYS Deutschland GmbH.

Natasha Laird - Legal Director

Natasha joined SCISYS as General Counsel in 2014, and has been Company Secretary since September 2016. She has a degree in Law and German Law from King's College, London and qualified as a solicitor in 1998. Prior to joining SCISYS, she practised as a commercial litigation lawyer in private practice at Hammonds (now Squire Patton Boggs) and then as a general counsel in industry, and has over 20 years’ legal and commercial experience. She obtained the ICSA company secretarial CCSP qualification in 2015. Natasha became Legal Director in December 2018 and remains Company Secretary.

David Coghlan - Non Executive Director

David has more than a twenty year track record in the technology sector with experience of working on both UK and US boards. He has been a Director of the AIM-listed Synectics PLC since 1993 and Chairman since 2005, and was recently appointed to the board of AIM-listed Eckoh PLC (December 2017). He co-founded Quadrant Group Limited in 2002, a flight and air traffic control simulation and services company, and remains its Chairman. He is a founding investor and Non-Executive Director of TrafficLand, Inc., a leading US-based provider of live traffic video to a broad customer base. David was previously a partner at strategy consultants Bain & Company. He has degrees in Law and in Finance from the University of New South Wales, and an MBA from the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania. David’s appointment was effective from 2 January 2013. He chairs the Audit Committee and sits on the Remuneration Committee.



The Divisional Boards meet on a monthly basis in order to address all divisional operational matters including commercial issues, sales opportunities and the management of risk. These are chaired by the Divisional Directors, reporting to the CEO. The meetings assess the operational and financial performance of each individual division (Space, SCISYS Media Solutions and Enterprise Solutions & Defence).

The Chief Executive, Finance Director and Technical Director are present. This Board meeting provides a key insight and focus for the Directors and senior managers to determine how the division is performing.

Klaus M. Heidrich - Chief Executive Officer
Chris Cheetham - Financial Director
Steve Brignall - Technical Director
Dr. Horst Wulf - Divisional Director Space
Dave Gawthorpe - Divisional Director ESD
Andy Whitehead - Divisional Director


From top left: Klaus Heidrich - Chief Executive Officer; Chris Cheetham - Finance Director; Steve Brignall - Technical Director
From middle left: Dr. Horst Wulf - Divisional Director Space; Michael Schueller - Divisional Director SCISYS Media Solutions
From bottom left: Dave Gawthorpe - Divisional Director ESD; Andy Whitehead - Divisional Director ESD


Office Locations

SCISYS Group PLC Structure

(Click to enlarge)